2018 community award recipients: cooperative work, individual achievement


We accomplish great things together as OCLC—more than 16,000 members strong around the world. The cooperative we have built is powered by the skill and passion of many individual librarians.

OCLC supports programs that recognize innovation and creativity in the global library community. Each year, we honor librarians who excel in their profession and advance librarianship. It was my honor to recognize six community leaders and their noteworthy accomplishments at the OCLC President’s Luncheon at ALA Annual in New Orleans last week.

Please join me in congratulating and thanking them for all they have contributed to our community.

John Ames Humphry/OCLC Forest Press Award for International Librarianship

Award-winner-AbdullahDr. Ismail H. Abdullahi, Professor of Global Library and Information Science at the School of Library and Information Sciences at North Carolina Central University, is the 2018 recipient of this award, which honors exceptional contributions to international librarianship. Dr. Abdullahi is a 25-year member of IFLA and 33-year member of ALA and has chaired many committees for both organizations. He edited two seminal books on global librarianship in 2014 that were published by IFLA, and he serves on the editorial boards of four international journals. He also established an IFLA special interest group on library and information science education in developing countries and convened it from 2005 to 2013.

ALA Spectrum Scholarship Program, LITA/OCLC Scholarship

helen_chuHelen Chu, Associate Dean of Libraries & Chief Academic Technology Officer at the University of Oregon, has been awarded the LITA/OCLC Scholarship, as part of the ALA Spectrum Scholarship Program. She is pursuing a Master of Information degree at Rutgers University. Her advanced degree will support success in her current role at University of Oregon. Helen is passionate about upholding the values of librarianship and is excited to join the ALA Spectrum community.

Margaret Mann Citation

Award-winner-JohnsonBruce Johnson, who retired from the Library of Congress in 2017, was the recipient of the 2018 Margaret Mann Citation for outstanding professional achievement in cataloging and classification. Bruce’s outstanding achievements have had a lasting impact on the professional library community. He led the creation, development, and implementation of the Cataloger’s Desktop, which has been an invaluable contribution to the cataloging profession. The Margaret Mann Citation includes a scholarship donated to a library school chosen by the award recipient. Bruce has chosen the University of Maryland’s College of Information Studies.

Virginia Boucher/OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award

Award-winner-MunsonjpgKurt Munson, Assistant Head of Access Services at Northwestern University Library, was this year’s recipient of the Virginia Boucher/OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award honoring outstanding professional leadership and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery. Kurt is recognized for his work to improve automation and interoperability of resource sharing systems. He frequently speaks and writes about next-generation resource sharing management and is recognized as one of the foremost authorities on resource sharing systems.

Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology

Award-winner-SmiragliaThis year, the Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology was presented to Dr. Richard P. Smiraglia, Professor in the Knowledge Organization Research Group of the iSchool at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee. Dr. Smiraglia is recognized for his research and contributions in bibliographic control, metadata, and knowledge organization—especially for nonprint and musical works. As Editor-in-Chief of the journal Knowledge Organization since 2004, and author of the 2001 book, The Nature of a Work: Implications for the Organization of Knowledge, Dr. Smiraglia has been an influential voice in the growth of science in knowledge organization. Named after the founder and first president of OCLC, this award is particularly meaningful to us at OCLC because it represents Mr. Kilgour’s commitment to library innovation through outstanding research and development.

Our cooperative is powered by the skill and passion of many individual librarians. #OCLCnext Click To Tweet

Melvil Dewey Medal

Award-winner-StoffleDr. Carla Stoffle, Professor at the School of Information, University of Arizona, was honored this year with the Melvil Dewey Medal. This award celebrates creative leadership in library management, training, cataloging, and classification. Dr. Stoffle retired in 2013 after more than 20 years as Dean of Libraries at the University of Arizona and is recognized for her distinguished 44-year career, including her leadership in ALA, ACRL, and other library associations. She is also noted for her role as co-creator and continuing supporter of Knowledge River, an endeavor of the University of Arizona to be a national exemplar of an LIS education program that reflects the diversity of communities that libraries serve.


OCLC President and CEO Skip Prichard with the 2018 award recipients, from left: Dr. Richard P. Smiraglia, Bruce Johnson, Kurt Munson, and Dr. Ismail H. Abdullahi. Not pictured: Helen Chu and Dr. Carla Stoffle.

Congratulations to this distinguished group of community leaders. OCLC is delighted to support librarians like you who contribute to the greater understanding of community engagement and the power of libraries.